Get to Know Dinis Freitas

FEBRUARY 28, 2024 | Posted By: Staff

Get to Know Dinis Freitas

Age: 48

Pronouns: He/Him

Zodiac: Aquarius

Hometown: Toronto, Ont.

Occupation: Textile Designer

Relationship Status: Partnered

Why do you think you were selected to be on BBCAN12?
I think my very authentic and enthusiastic energy, and clear passion for this game secured my spot. It’s equally important for me to create the space for elder queers to feel like they can get on the show without age being a concern.

What is your strategy going into the house?
Using my social skills. I want to create a multilayer grouping of people who are seen as “floaters” (ideally queer) to weaponize all information. I will also downplay how much of a superfan I am.

What aspect of your personality do you think will shine the most?
My gregarious nature.

What strengths do you bring that will help you in POV/HOH challenges?
My discipline, resourcefulness, and enthusiasm will help me in challenges.

What part of the Big Brother Canada experience are you most excited for?
Being thrust into an unknown situation and having to deal with it using experiences I’ve had thus far.

What part of the Big Brother Canada experience do you think will be the hardest for you?
I think being constantly “on” will be exhausting but not impossible. Finding time and space to replenish the social energy will be important and I would do this through meditation.

What’s the first thing you would buy with the grand prize winnings?
A trip overseas to Scotland and Portugal for my partner and myself.

What legacy do you hope to leave behind after your time on BBCAN12?
I want to be remembered as someone who played without prioritizing their post-game online persona. Someone who wanted to play the game and was genuinely happy to be there.


Fill in the Blank:

My idea of a perfect day includes: waking up to fresh coffee and going out to brunch with my partner. Then shopping or going to a farmer’s market, having dinner with friends, going to a show and ending the night with drinks and dancing.

My biggest pet peeve is: people who leave a party without saying goodbye.

My greatest strength is: my energetic attitude and discipline.

My biggest fear is: losing my sight.

My most prized possession is: my collection of over 200 transformers.

The best advice I’ve ever received is: handle what needs to be handled.

My hidden talent is: I can flip my eyelids inside out.

Most spontaneous thing I’ve done is: when I was feeling frustrated with Toronto, I left the week after for a train trip to Vancouver by myself and with no plan and stayed for a week.

If I could possess any superpower, it would be: shapeshifter.

My celebrity lookalike is: John Ritter, or his son is a close runner-up.

My celebrity crush is: Henry Cavill.

When I’m stressed, I cope by: doing things I enjoy, listening to music, playing with transformers, cooking and alone time.

If I could only eat one thing in the house, it would be: burritos.

I get along best with people who: are authentic, funny and have hobbies.

My friends/family would describe me as someone who: is loud, outgoing, loyal and an antagonist.

A personal accomplishment I am most proud of is: buying my first home.

Rapid Fire:

Popularity contest or under-the-radar strategy? Under-the-radar strategy
Gut instinct or logic? Instincts that precede my logic
Competition beast or floater? Competition beast
Intellectual skills or physical strength? Ideally both, but skewed to intellectual skills
No sleep or no food? No food
Master manipulator or straightforward honesty? Honesty as part of manipulation
Win at all costs, or maintain your integrity? Win at all costs
Showmance or nomance? Whole-mance, a bro-mance for genuine connection to keep me sane in the house, flirt-mance to be used strategically